NASCAR line-up at Watkins Glen: Beginning order, pole for Sunday’s race with out qualifying


The grid for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Watkins Glen International was determined by applying the statistical formula that NASCAR uses for most of the series’ races in 2021.

Drivers’ starting positions for Go Bowling at The Glen (3 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Target placement of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final placement of the car owner from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Ranking of team owner points (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR will conduct qualifying and practice sessions for only eight races in the Cup series in the 2021 season. The remaining sessions will be held on August 15 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course and on November 7 in Phoenix for the Championship 4 season finale.

Below is the starting grid, determined without qualification, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Watkins Glen 3.4 mile road circuit.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR Race Live on fuboTV (7-Day Free Trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race at Watkins Glen?

Brad Keselowski took pole position for Sunday’s race. The driver from Team Penske has achieved two top 5 placements and two top 10 placements in his last five races.

His teammate Joey Logano will join him in the front row. Logano took # 2 by finishing fourth in New Hampshire in the final race before the Olympic break.

Ryan Blaney managed to win the first three qualifying places for the Penske team on Sunday. Blaney has achieved three top five and one top 10 in his last five races.

All three drivers have already qualified for the playoffs of the NASCAR Cup Series by winning.

Of the four best drivers in the playoff bubble, two will start next to each other on Sunday. Kevin Harvick will be fifth and series leader Denny Hamlin will be sixth. Tyler Reddick will start 13th and Austin Dillon will start 16th.

NASCAR grid in Watkins Glen

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to determine the starting grid for Sunday’s race at Watkins Glen International, Go Bowling at The Glen. 37 cars were entered for the race.

begin driver Car no. team
1 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
2 Joey Logano 22nd Team Penske
3 Ryan Blaney 12th Team Penske
4th Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Kevin Harvick 4th Stewart-Haas race
6th Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
7th Christopher Bell 20th Joe Gibbs Racing
8th Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas race
9 Martin Truex Jr. 19th Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
11 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
12th Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
13th Tyler Reddick 8th Richard children’s race
14th Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
fifteen William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard children’s race
17th Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
18th Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
19th Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas race
20th Kyle Busch 18th Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
22nd Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
23 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Chris Büscher 17th Roush Fenway Racing
25th Michael McDowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
26th Bubba Wallace 23 23XI race
27 Chase Briscoe 14th Stewart-Haas race
28 Ryan Newman 6th Roush Fenway Racing
29 Corey LaJoie 7th Spire Motorsport
30th Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsport
31 Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsport in the front row
32 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
33 Kyle Tilley 78 Live fast motorsport
34 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 Quin Houff 00 StarCom races
36 James Davison 51 Petty Ware Racing
37 RC Enerson fifteen Rick Ware Racing